#88

Usually when I draw, I draw using the point-to-point method. This means that I start with a central location (most often the nose) and then I look at the distance between each feature, while looking at the negative space (or the part where there is not a feature) before I draw each line. I think this method works fairly well, but I am finding that it is not the best for rendering foreshortening. Today I attempted to utilize a looser style and I sketched out the main forms of Cordelia’s body and then I went back and refined them in more of the point-to-point style. I think this resulted in an image that is proportional and also drawn even faster than usual. My only issue was that I used a 7H pencil because it was the sharpest one I could find and I am so afraid of waking Cordelia up if I use my electric sharpener. 7H pencils have incredibly hard “lead” and it is almost impossible to make a dark line, so this drawing is a little hard to see. Note to self- sharpen pencils before Cordelia goes down for her nap.

0 Responses to “#88”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


