The non-portrait

I know, I know… this is not a portrait, but I spent so much time drawing this today in my sketchbooking class that I wanted to share it. I have no idea what it is called… I think it is one of those maple seeds that has decayed a little. I used to call them “helicopters” when I was a kid because of the way they would spin when they would fall from the branches above. I used a limited amount of colored pencils and utilized a new technique using a magic eraser to pull up the white areas. I found that it was so completely zen-like to draw this… there was no pressure to make it just so… to achieve a likeness. I really became absorbed in all the tiny details of this little seed. I would like to make more of these nature drawings and you may be seeing more soon.

0 Responses to “The non-portrait”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


