#60

I have finished the two figures in the pastel painting that I have been working on lately. I may still add a few more details here and there, but for the most part I have drawn everything that I can see from the photo reference that I have. My sister, who took the original photo, emailed me today to tell me that she did not have a higher resolution version of this photo. She said that it was a hazy day on the beach when it was taken- so my painting will have to look a little hazy, too. I am glad that I chose to draw this image with pastel, because it affords itself to having an impressionistic quality about it and does not require all the little details that say, a colored pencil painting would need.

I would say that it is almost finished and if I keep plugging away at it I should be finished soon. I still need to work on the beach sand. I need to add a little more tan and grey to the sand and then add all the little stones that cover the ground. Maybe this will be where I add a little colored pencil here and there (I am a little nervous about trying out the colored pencil on my figures because they are such an important part of my composition). Here is today’s progress so far, and if Cordelia keeps sleeping I may be able to start working on the sand.

2 Responses to “#60”


  1. 1 Sarah April 2, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Oh Roxy! You’ve got it!

  2. 2 Carol May 12, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    Roxie,

    I am in awe. This portrait is exquisite and will be treasured for generations to come.


Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


