#58 and a pastel background

Yesterday I drew out the entire composition on newsprint for a pastel painting that I am working on. I was able to transfer the newsprint study onto my Pastelbord panel with graphite paper yesterday afternoon and last night I blocked in the background’s main colors. Oftentimes pastel paintings have “ugly” stages and to me, this is one of them, but I wanted to share my progress with you everyday. The background is a beach scene with crashing waves and foam accumulating where the water meets the beach sand. When working in pastel, I like to block in the background first because afterward when you add the figures in the foreground, the risk of accidentally getting pastel on your figures is reduced. Pastel is messy stuff, because basically you are painting with pressed clump of dust. I am a little worried about starting the figures because I know it will be difficult to create the small details… I may need to go and purchase some pastel pencils to add the facial features, etc. because the heads in this painting are about an inch wide. Miss Cordelia and I may need to hit the art supply store today. I am also curious if I would be able to mix colored pencil on top of the pastel to add the details- I have never added colored pencil on top of pastel on a Pastelbord panel before…

I like the process of photographing my progress and sharing it with my readers, because after I take a picture of my drawings, I see many things that I need to fix that I did not notice when I looked at the original. Here in the background of my painting I noticed that the lines of the water in the far distance break up at the heads of my figures and do not look continuous… I will need to fix that, among other things.

3 Responses to “#58 and a pastel background”


  1. 1 Sarah March 31, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    These figures look familiar to me! I’d like to buy the finished drawing for Jonah!!

  2. 2 Jo Castillo April 1, 2010 at 4:03 am

    This is looking great. I will be interested to see if you try the colored pencil. Thanks for the WIP.

    • 3 Roxanne Vanslette April 1, 2010 at 11:54 pm

      Thanks, Jo! I am a little afraid about adding the colored pencil on top, but I am curious to see if it will work on top of the pastel layer on the panel. I just checked out your blog and I love the photos that you took of the Texas blue bonnets- it would make such a beautiful painting! I also liked your tips for blending on the Pastelbord- I would have never thought of using plastic bags on my fingers- but that Pastelbord sure is rough!


Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


