Study for a painting

I recently received a commission to paint a portrait of my nephew and his father on the beach. I am going to paint the portrait with soft pastels on Ampersand Pastelbord. I love working on Pastelbord, but it is quite pricey and graphite does not erase very well off of its surface, so whenever I plan on working on Pastelbord, I draw a study on newsprint that is the same size as the Pastelbord. I draw on gridded paper so that I can make sure that everything in the drawing is to scale and after I sketch out the study and I am happy with the composition, I then use transfer paper to transfer the image from the sketch onto the panel.

Today’s sketch is of my nephew’s father. The image that I was working from is not very clear and I could barely make out his facial features, so I shaded in the study to see if by adding the tone that I saw if it would look more like him (I usually do not shade my studies, but often it is the only way I can be sure that my lines are “correct”).

Tomorrow I will share the sketch of my nephew and I will continue to post images on this painting as I work on it.

0 Responses to “Study for a painting”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


