Indigo Cordelia #8

This is the 49th drawing that I have made for my 1000 portraits project. It has never been easy for me to share my artwork with others… every piece I have ever done I have always felt that I could have done it better and I have always been hesitant to show it to others because I always felt that they would think the same thing, too. Art has always been a stressor and a relaxer to me at the same time. The process of drawing is very therapeutic… immersing myself in the lines of the image is a way to leave behind all the cares of my life… but then afterward I have to deal with the negative thoughts in my head about the drawing that I have just completed.
I attended my friend Constance’s sketchbooking class yesterday and it was refreshing to me when she shared her sketchbooks with the class. She showed a drawing of a breadstick that she had drawn while in Italy and she explained that looking upon the image, you may not even know that it is a breadstick, but to her it takes her back to that cafe in Italy every time she looks at it.

I have been posting a lot of blue portraits of Cordelia and I worry that they may bore the people who are following my blog or my Facebook page… but when I look back at those images I am brought back to Cordelia’s bedside with her peaceful face and her sweet belly moving up and down as she slowly breathes… and that is what it is all about isn’t it?

For those of you out there that read my blog, I encourage you to push yourself to do what you love everyday… no matter what anyone else thinks… or what those voices in your head may be saying. You can do it.

So from now on this blog is going to be my virtual sketchbook. Some images may be quick sketches, others paintings may have taken me weeks to create. My only goal is to draw everyday and share it with you.

1 Response to “Indigo Cordelia #8”


  1. 1 Sarah March 22, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Thank you Roxy…sommehow it seems that your blog today was written just for me! Thanks for the encouragement!!! And about all these “INDIGO CORDELIAS”…..I think they’ll make a stunning gallery exhibit someday.


Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


