Self-Portrait

Last week I had my students at Acton Art draw a self-portrait, which got me thinking that it had been years since I had last drawn myself. When I was a teenager, I drew myself often because I was the only model that I had and it was the only way I could learn how to draw from life. I remember sitting for hours in front of my mirrored closet doors (so 80’s!)drawing myself in every conceivable position. Over the years I have drawn myself less and less. With a busy schedule and a baby, I have found that I barely have enough time to look at myself, much less draw myself- and frankly, I do not know what I look like anymore.
Tonight after work, Roman and Cordelia were watching tv and both were gazing intently at that glowing screen when I thought that I could try to draw them together. I grabbed my drawing board, paper and a carbon pencil and by the time I had sat down, they had dispersed. I sat at the kitchen table wondering what to do next when I caught my reflection in the bay window. So, this is drawn from what I saw in the reflection of my kitchen window. It isn’t very clear and the face is a little too dark… but Cordelia said it was “mommy” when I showed it to her- and if anyone knows what I look like it is that little girl.

1 Response to “Self-Portrait”


  1. 1 Sarah March 16, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    I knew it was you too! (It is so much fun to open your blog and to guess correctly) It’s a beautiful portrait of a beauiful woman.


Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


