#43

Indigo CordeliaI cannot believe that I have made it to portrait #43. I had to sort through my drawings today to find a particular portrait that I had drawn and I was amazed at how many drawings I had made so far. Before I started this project I always felt that I had to be in the mood to draw and that it was something that I could not just turn on. For the past 43 days there has been many days that I did not want to draw. I was tired, I had worked all day, blah, blah, blah… but I had made a public commitment and I would have been embarrassed if I didn’t post something everyday. Now I feel that I can push myself to draw anytime- even when I have Cordelia sitting on my lap (but that is sooooooo hard!).
Today’s portrait is another nap-time image of Cordelia, again drawn with three blue colored pencils. Once I started drawing I realized that I had gotten the tilt of her neck wrong, but since I could not erase, I worked the image as best as I could. The way that I check to see if my angles are correct is to look at the negative space that surrounds the subject, instead of the subject itself. Constantly while I draw I go back and forth looking at both the positive and negative space. This is a method that I picked up from Betty Edwards who wrote “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain” and it really does help out a lot. I recommend her book for anyone that wants to improve their drawing skills.

0 Responses to “#43”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


