Sketch from life

I should probably rename my blog 1000 portraits of Cordelia because I have been drawing so many pictures of my daughter lately. Today is the day of the week that I teach art all day, so when I get home sometimes drawing is the last thing that I want to do. Cordelia and I were sitting on the sofa watching some tv together when I realized that I still had not done my portrait of the day and I started to think about who I could draw. That is why I like this project so much- it literally forces me to shut of the tv and pick up a pencil. Cordelia missed her nap today being home with Daddy, so she is a little whiny, but also a little slower moving as well. I was able to sketch her profile while she was coloring and then I sat her on a chair and sketched her body as fast as I could. I am quite impressed that I was able to draw her as well as I did considering how often she moved. The finished product ended up being a sort of montage of all the positions that she was in while I drew her. After she climbed down from the chair I tried to fill in the blanks of the background and added some of the back of the chair and the table in the distance. This was drawn using a carbon pencil which is similar to charcoal, although it is a little smoother. It photographs better as well because it is not reflective like graphite.

0 Responses to “Sketch from life”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


