Manga Saturday

I teach two Manga (Japanese comic style) drawing classes on Saturdays and I have been wanting to post some of my manga or manga-inspired work that I have created on my blog. Today during my Manga II class I had a little time to draw some Fan Art… which is Manga-ese for copying another artist’s picture or character. I am slightly obsessed with the Manga Artist Chen Shu Fen and wanted to draw a quick study of one of the artist’s digital paintings. I found this image in the Japanese Comickers 2 Book, but Chen Shu Fen’s images can be found all over the web- I like to find great images in the gallery section at http://www.aethereality.net. Chen Shu Fen has done a series of what look to be the same girl- every pose is so beautiful and all are finished in this soft realistic manner that is manga at the same time. I love the artist’s use of line and I hope that someday I can make skin that is as smooth and beautiful as this artist creates. Chen Shu Fen’s work is considered to be realistic style manga and during my classes I teach the popular Shonen and Shojo styles- this is the classic manga style with big heads and eyes and flowing hair. I may post some of these images someday, too. I am going to try to post a manga style or manga inspired work every Saturday to spice things up a bit. Hope you like them.

0 Responses to “Manga Saturday”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


