Sleeping Cordelia

Sleeping CordeliaA few nights ago I decided to try to sketch my daughter from life. We just bought her a Mickey Mouse Story Reader that she really enjoys and she seemed still when I picked up my pencil and paper. In reality, she is a little squirmer and had to shift and rearrange herself every five seconds or so. It is very difficult for me to capture a likeness if the sitter moves and I was not very happy with my attempt to draw Miss Cordelia from life.
Today as I was putting Cordelia down for her nap, I decided to try again. I love drawing from life- I just think that the finished pieces look so much more interesting than when they are drawn from a photo- they just have more life to them. I often watch her sleeping (and any mother would agree that there is nothing better than watching a sleeping child- especially as one as difficult to get to sleep as mine!) and decided to draw her again. She didn’t move for the 10 minutes it took me to draw her and I did not need to erase once. I think I am going to draw a series of her sleeping. Also, just drawing for 10 minutes instead of an hour and a half gives me a lot more time to do other things!

1 Response to “Sleeping Cordelia”


  1. 1 Sarah March 5, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Funny you drew Cordeely sleeping. I was thinking yesterday about sending you some pictures of my children – in the “angel” sleeping pose! They are SO BEAUTIFUL when they SLEEP!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


