La Fornarina

This is a study of Raphael’s painting, La Fornarina. I like to copy the masters as often as I can because I feel that you learn so much from them. This painting was of Raphael’s mistress and since she lived around 500 years ago I did not have to worry about capturing a likeness, since no one actually knows what this woman looked like. Raphael himself even deviated from her likeness by exaggerating the size of her eyes and shortening her mouth. I drew this entire portrait in pen. Drawing in pen is also a great exercise because it forces you to be very mindful about each line that you put on the paper. Also, for me I tend to be very tight in the respect that I stress about every line being just perfect. When I draw in pen I have to let go of my perfectionist tendencies- which makes the entire process so much more enjoyable. I tried to draw this as fast as I could tonight. I asked my husband how long it took me- I thought he would say 20 minutes, because time flew as I sketched, but he told me that it was at least an hour. It does not look exactly like La Fornarina, but there is a resemblance.

0 Responses to “La Fornarina”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


