Cordelia in blue

I must say that there is nothing more enjoyable than drawing ones own child. I have mountains of laundry and a million things to do around the house today, but I forced myself to sit down and draw. I chose a photo of my daughter that I took of her before she could walk. She had pulled herself up on a stool facing the window and there was beautiful light that illuminated her face. The portrait would have been better in color, but today I wanted to work in pen and challenge myself to capture a likeness without being able to erase any lines. I think I am going to continue on this path and draw more with pen. I like the permanence of the line. I recently googled “bic pen drawing” and there are some incredible drawings done with pen. At some point I would like to work for more than an hour on a portrait in pen to see what I could really do with the medium.

0 Responses to “Cordelia in blue”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


