Caleb

First of all, I must apologize for the poor quality of my photos. The pictures that I have posted so far have been taken with my iphone. I have tried to take the pictures in natural light, but as I just finished this drawing and it is after 10 pm, it was taken under the spotty light of my dining room chandelier. At a later date I am going to scan all my drawings so that I have better images to post, but until then, this will have to do.

I was worried that I would not have an image to post today because my daughter has her first cold of the winter and I decided to take a nap with her today to help her sleep.

This image is of my friend’s son, Caleb. I have known him since he was a baby and I feel that I captured him. In the photo he is ice fishing and has on a hat and a hooded jacket. As I outlined the drawing, the composition reminded me of Vermeer’s Girl with a Pearl Earring. I tried to underplay the hat and hooded jacket to further emphasize the similarity. I drew everything with a mechanical pencil and my 18 month old on my lap. To save time and to show the tone on his face, I chose to cross hatch my pencil lines, which is a similar method that I used when I drew my Purple Cordelia.

0 Responses to “Caleb”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


