Logan

This little girl is named Logan. She is the granddaughter of a close friend of the family and lives out west. I have never met her either, but she looks just like her mother and her grandmother, so it was a little easier for me to draw her. In the photo that I used to draw this picture she is dressed up as Snow White. When I get a reference photo that cute I want to draw the clothes and everything, but for this project I do not have the time. Maybe someday I can draw another one that is more finished. Again this is colored pencil and pastel. I have limited myself to a very small palette and I have been following the same steps for all of my colored pencil/pastel combo portraits. First I draw all the outlines of the features with a light line and a hard pencil (#HB or #F) and then I outline the features with black colored pencil and then “paint” the eyes with the colored pencil, reserving the pastel for the skin and the hair. The pastel cuts down on the finishing time because I apply it quickly with a scribbling motion and then just rub it with my finger to blend. It takes about five minutes, which is so much shorter than building up layers of colored pencil. Afterward, I add a small amount of colored pencil on top of the pastel to add details such as the eyelashes, etc.

0 Responses to “Logan”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


