For Sara…

Sara and I have been friends since the first grade. We moved away from our hometown after school and I haven’t seen her for years. When I told her about my portrait project, she promptly sent me 3 great photos of her son, Parker, whom I have never met. Upon seeing the photos, I could immediately tell that he was her son. He had his mother’s clear blue eyes and her same rosy complexion. I started drawing his portrait this afternoon and I must admit I really enjoyed drawing him. Looking at his face reminded me of when his mother and I were his age… riding the school bus together and playing with her Barbie Dream House… I am not sure if my finished portrait looks like him, but it sure does look like Sara!

I did a little something different in the background on this portrait. Again, it is a colored pencil and pastel drawing, but after I had finished it (or thought I had finished it) I realized that I had made the back of his head a little too large. Once colored pencil has been applied it is almost impossible to get back to the white of the paper, so I erased what I could and then put a light layer of sky blue pastel on the background. I like how the light blue looks against the warm skin tone… I am wondering if I should continue to leave my backgrounds white, or if I should tint them with a light wash of color like I did here? I am starting to think that Baby Mac needs a background… maybe a light pink? What do you think?

1 Response to “For Sara…”


  1. 1 marc February 19, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    awesome! i like the white backgrounds—minimalist 🙂


Leave a Reply

My website

Commissioned portraits from your photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


